Joan of Arc

Posted on September 14, 2011

0


*Article by Maggie Labno — buzz Music Writer*

Photo by Dima Rogovik

Joan of Arc has been keeping busy this year. Just a day after coming back from its European tour, the band was in the studio working on their newest album Life Like. They managed to record Life Like in just a few days, and now all that’s left is promotion. Joan of Arc bassist Bobby Burg found some time to talk to me about skunks, Pygmalion and film accompaniment. Joan of Arc will perform at the Highdive outdoor stage on Saturday, September 24, at 2:30pm.

buzz: Joan of Arc toured in August. Can you share with me some of the highlights from that tour?

Bobby Burg: We had some van problems when we were in Brooklyn, and the repair shop was next to Coney Island, so we got to ride some rides. That was really fun. Also, we stayed on this island in Montreal and there was this hotel, but it was the only building on this island. There was a skunk and fox in the parking lot, so we were kind of afraid to exit the van to get into the hotel.

buzz: Was everyone safe from the skunk?

BB: Yeah, no one got sprayed…

buzz: This is Joan of Arc’s first year at Pygmalion. What are you expecting from the festival?

BB: I haven’t really thought about it. I’m looking forward to seeing some friends that work at the record label Polyvinyl. I’m looking forward to hanging out with those guys.

buzz: What should those attending your show expect?

BB: What can they expect? The show of their life probably. It’s gonna be amazing.

buzz: Are you going to check out any of the other bands performing at Pygmalion this year?

BB: Yes, I want to. But it all depends on how we’re getting there. It could be one of those things where we drive down there and then drive back up when we’re done, but I don’t know for sure.

buzz: You guys toured Europe this year, you did 20 concerts in 20 days. And then right after that, you went into the studio to work on Life Like. You got to Chicago on Tuesday night, then Thursday morning you were already in the studio. What did you that Wednesday?

BB: I went to my favorite restaurant called Handlebar. I coincidentally bumped into Theo [Katsaounis] and Tim [Kinsella] there. We had all gone in there separately, independently from each other, just went there by ourselves to eat. So, it’s pretty funny that we all missed the same type of food.

buzz: Do you think Life Like would’ve turned out differently if you had a longer break from that tour?

BB: Yes, probably. I don’t know. Who knows? But it would either be a little different, or the same, or a lot different. Maybe it feels a little bit like we were on auto pilot, playing the songs. I think we were at our stride for playing them when we were recording. It made the process of recording easy. I don’t know if the end result would have turned out all that differently. We finished two days early, ahead of schedule.

buzz: How long did recording take?

BB: I believe it was three days, and then two days of mixing. Maybe six days total.

buzz: When you record, is it usually that fast?

BB: No, it usually takes a lot longer. But because we played the songs already, we just kind of zipped through. You know, ‘cause we had practice from tour.

buzz: Joan of Arc accompanied the film The Passion of Joan of Arc this past April at the Chicago International Movies and Music Festival. How did you get involved with that?

BB: The Chicago International Movies and Music Festival asked if Joan of Arc would be interested in playing their opening event…It was just kind of mentioned in passing, and then we said “Oh, okay. Great, that sounds perfect.”

buzz: Have you accompanied any other films?   

BB: No, I don’t think I have.

buzz: Would you like to?

BB: Yeah, it was a really fun, different way of playing. Especially after playing all these composed rock songs for so long. It was really cool to be even given the chance to try something like that.

buzz: I know you haven’t been with Joan of Arc from the beginning. What triggered your involvement with the band?

BB: My solo band that I do called Love of Everything was on tour opening for Joan of Arc. I went on tour as a guitar tech for Joan of Arc and also opening for their show. So I guess that’s how it started.

buzz: Do you guys have a favorite Chicago venue to perform at?

BB: I’m sure we all do, yeah. All of them are so good in so many different ways. I think I prefer the weirder art spaces and stuff. I do like playing at the Empty Bottle a lot.

buzz: Under the Joan of Arc bio, it says “we are ready for the next step.” What is the next step then?

BB: Oh, well, we don’t know. But we know that we’re getting off the Life Like tour. We know that’s the end of this chapter, but we don’t know where we’re going yet. We’re waiting to see I guess.

buzz: Is there anywhere you’d like to go?

BB: Nah, I’m just enjoying where it takes me.

Who: Joan of Arc, Braid, Deerhoof, Japandroids + More – Polyvinyl 15th Anniversary Showcase
When: Saturday, Sept. 24 @ 2:30
Where: The Highdive – Outdoor Stage
Ages: 19+
Cost: $25 in advance ($30 at the gate); free with festival wristband
Buy tickets here

Joan of Arc – “Life Force”